Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL), Marketing Division, Western Region, has announced an apprenticeship opportunity for candidates looking for practical training with one of India’s major public sector energy companies. The recruitment covers 335 Trade, Technician and Graduate Apprentice positions across Maharashtra, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Goa, Chhattisgarh, Daman & Diu, and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.
The online application process begins on 5 October 2026 at 10:00 AM. Eligible candidates must complete registration and submit their application through the appropriate NAPS or NATS portal by 4 November 2026 at 5:00 PM.
The engagement is for apprenticeship training under the Apprentices Act. Candidates should note that this is a training opportunity and does not create a right to regular employment with IOCL.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026: At a Glance
| Particular | Details |
|---|---|
| Organisation | Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL), Marketing Division |
| Region | Western Region |
| Advertisement No. | IOCL/MKTG/WR/APPR/2026-27 |
| Notification Date | 5 October 2026 |
| Total Vacancies | 335 |
| Apprentice Categories | Trade, Technician and Graduate |
| Training Period | 12 Months |
| States/UTs | Maharashtra, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Goa, Chhattisgarh, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli |
| Application Mode | Online |
| Application Portal | NAPS / NATS |
| Application Start | 5 October 2026, 10:00 AM |
| Last Date | 4 November 2026, 5:00 PM |
| Selection | Merit-based |
| Written Examination | Not specified / No written test |
The official IOCL careers page lists this Western Region apprenticeship notification along with the detailed advertisement, NATS and NAPS application routes, and the pre-engagement medical format.
IOCL Apprentice Vacancy 2026
A total of 335 apprenticeship opportunities are available under different discipline codes.
| Apprentice Category | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| Technician Apprentice | 99 |
| Trade Apprentice, ITI | 40 |
| Graduate Apprentice | 174 |
| Data Entry Operator Apprentice | 22 |
| Total | 335 |
The vacancies are distributed across the Western Region states and Union Territories. Maharashtra has the largest share, including 100 Graduate Apprentice positions, while additional opportunities are available in Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Goa, Chhattisgarh, Daman & Diu, and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.
The vacancies are tentative. IOCL may increase or decrease the number of opportunities according to its requirements.
Discipline-wise Opportunities
The recruitment includes the following broad categories:
- Technician Apprentice in Mechanical, Electrical, Instrumentation, Civil, Electrical & Electronics and Electronics disciplines
- Trade Apprentice in Fitter, Electrician, Electronics Mechanic, Instrument Mechanic and Machinist trades
- Graduate Apprentice for graduates in disciplines specified by the notification
- Data Entry Operator Apprentice for eligible Class 12 candidates
- Data Entry Operator Apprentice for candidates holding the prescribed skill certificate
PwBD candidates are eligible only for the notified Graduate Apprentice and Data Entry Operator opportunities, subject to the disability categories and conditions specified in the notification.
Who Can Apply for IOCL Apprentice Recruitment?
IOCL has prescribed different educational qualifications according to the discipline code. Candidates should check the exact code before applying because eligibility varies considerably between Technician, Trade, Graduate and Data Entry Operator apprenticeships.
Technician Apprentice
Candidates applying under Technician Apprentice disciplines must generally possess a regular full-time Diploma in the relevant engineering discipline from a recognised institution.
The applicable disciplines include:
- Mechanical Engineering
- Electrical Engineering
- Instrumentation Engineering
- Civil Engineering
- Electrical & Electronics Engineering
- Electronics Engineering
The prescribed minimum marks are generally 50% for General, EWS and OBC-NCL candidates, while 45% is applicable to SC, ST and PwBD candidates for reserved positions, subject to the notification conditions.
Trade Apprentice
Trade Apprentice applicants must have:
- Matriculation/Class 10 qualification
- A regular full-time 2-year ITI course in the relevant trade
- ITI qualification recognised by NCVT or SCVT
The notified trades include Fitter, Electrician, Electronics Mechanic, Instrument Mechanic and Machinist.
Graduate Apprentice
Candidates applying for Graduate Apprentice opportunities must have a regular full-time bachelor’s degree, such as BA, B.Com, B.Sc, BBA or another qualification accepted for the notified discipline.
The prescribed minimum percentage is generally 50% for General/EWS/OBC-NCL candidates and 45% for SC/ST/PwBD candidates against reserved opportunities.
Data Entry Operator Apprentice
Two Data Entry Operator routes are available.
Fresher route: Class 12 qualification with the prescribed minimum marks.
Skill Certificate Holder route: Class 12 qualification along with the prescribed Domestic Data Entry Operator Skill Certificate obtained under the applicable National Skill Qualification Framework or Central Government-recognised system.
Important Qualification Conditions
Applicants should carefully check these conditions before submitting the form:
- Qualifications must generally be obtained through regular full-time study.
- Part-time, correspondence or distance-learning qualifications are not accepted where the notification requires regular full-time study.
- Candidates must follow the prescribed qualification acquisition period.
- CGPA, OGPA or letter grades must be converted into percentage according to the rules of the concerned institution.
- Candidates admitted to a diploma course through lateral entry may be eligible subject to the prescribed conditions.
- Candidates holding or pursuing certain higher qualifications, including B.E./B.Tech, MBA, MCA, CA, ICWA or LLB, may be ineligible under the notification.
- A candidate can apply for only one discipline code. Multiple applications can lead to rejection.
IOCL Apprentice Age Limit 2026
The age is calculated as on 30 September 2026.
| Category | Age Limit |
|---|---|
| General/EWS/UR | 18 to 24 years |
| OBC-NCL | Up to 27 years |
| SC/ST | Up to 29 years |
| PwBD, General | Up to 34 years |
| PwBD + OBC-NCL | Up to 37 years |
| PwBD + SC/ST | Up to 39 years |
Candidates should check the official notification for the exact application of age relaxation to their category and vacancy.
For candidates unsure about their eligibility by date of birth, the CareerAlert24 Age Calculator can be used as a quick preliminary check. The official notification remains the final authority.
IOCL Apprentice Stipend
IOCL has stated that the stipend payable to apprentices will be governed by the applicable provisions of the Apprentices Act, Apprentices Rules and amendments in force from time to time.
The exact monthly stipend amount for each category is Not Specified in the recruitment details supplied for this article. Candidates should therefore not treat unofficial stipend figures as confirmed until IOCL publishes or confirms them.
IOCL Apprentice Selection Process 2026
This recruitment does not involve a conventional written examination or interview.
The selection process is primarily based on merit prepared using marks obtained in the prescribed essential qualification.
The broad process is:
- Registration on NAPS or NATS.
- Application against the notified IOCL Western Region opportunity.
- Preparation of the merit list based on qualifying examination marks.
- Shortlisting for document verification.
- Pre-Engagement Medical Fitness examination.
- Verification of documents and eligibility.
- Issue of the Offer of Engagement to eligible shortlisted candidates.
Candidates should not assume that apprenticeship selection will involve a written test simply because it is a large public sector recruitment. The notification specifically follows a merit-based selection route.
How to Apply for IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026
Candidates must use the apprenticeship portal applicable to their discipline.
For Trade Apprentice and Data Entry Operator
- Visit the Apprenticeship India/NAPS portal.
- Complete candidate registration if not already registered.
- Complete the profile and educational details.
- Search for the IOCL Western Region opportunity.
- Select the appropriate discipline code.
- Verify all details before submission.
- Submit the application within the prescribed deadline.
For Technician and Graduate Apprentice
- Register on the NATS portal.
- Complete the candidate profile.
- Search for the Indian Oil Corporation Limited, Marketing Division, Western Region opportunity.
- Select the eligible discipline.
- Check the qualification, state/UT and other details.
- Submit the application online.
Candidates must apply only for one discipline code. The notification identifies the Western Region establishment through the relevant NATS/NAPS registration details.
The application window is open from 5 October 2026, 10:00 AM to 4 November 2026, 5:00 PM.
Documents Required
Shortlisted candidates should keep the following documents ready for verification, as applicable:
- Class 10 certificate and mark sheet
- Class 12 certificate and mark sheet
- ITI certificate and marksheets
- Diploma certificate and semester-wise marksheets
- Graduation certificate and marksheets
- Caste certificate, where applicable
- OBC-NCL certificate in the prescribed format, where applicable
- PwBD certificate, where applicable
- Aadhaar Card
- PAN Card
- Aadhaar-seeded bank passbook
- Cancelled cheque
- Regular-course/year-of-passing certificate where required
- Pre-Engagement Medical Fitness Certificate
- CGPA/percentage conversion certificate, where applicable
Candidates should carry originals and the required copies during document verification.
Important Conditions for Candidates
There are several conditions applicants should understand before applying.
First, apprenticeship training is not equivalent to regular employment with IOCL. Completion of training does not give the apprentice an automatic right to a permanent job.
Second, candidates must provide correct information. If eligibility problems, false information or document discrepancies are discovered, the candidature can be cancelled.
Third, applicants should maintain an active mobile number and email address because important communication regarding document verification and engagement may be sent electronically.
Candidates who have already undergone apprenticeship training should also check the notification’s restrictions regarding previous apprenticeship engagements before applying.
Important Dates
| Event | Date and Time |
|---|---|
| Notification Date | 5 October 2026 |
| Application Starts | 5 October 2026, 10:00 AM |
| Last Date to Apply | 4 November 2026, 5:00 PM |
| Age/Qualification Cut-off | 30 September 2026 |
| Graduate/Technician Qualification Window | 1 April 2023 to 30 September 2026 |
| Trade/DEO Qualification Window | 1 April 2022 to 30 September 2026 |
CareerAlert24 Insight
The biggest advantage of this IOCL apprenticeship is the range of entry routes. Candidates with ITI, Diploma, Class 12 or Graduation qualifications can find opportunities under different discipline codes.
However, applicants should not select a discipline simply because their qualification appears similar. IOCL has specific discipline codes, regular-course requirements, qualification cut-off dates and restrictions on higher qualifications.
The one-discipline rule is particularly important. Applying for multiple codes can result in rejection, so candidates should first identify the single opportunity for which their qualification, age and other conditions match.
Candidates should also remember that this is an apprenticeship, not a permanent IOCL recruitment. The value of the opportunity is the structured industry training and apprenticeship experience, not a guaranteed future job.
Important Links
- Official IOCL Apprenticeship Page: Visit IOCL Apprenticeships
- Official Notification: Download IOCL Western Region Apprentice Notification PDF
- NATS Portal: Register/Apply for Technician and Graduate Apprentices
- NAPS / Apprenticeship India: Register/Apply for Trade and DEO Apprentices
Conclusion
The IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 offers 335 apprenticeship opportunities for ITI, Diploma, Class 12 and Graduate candidates across the Western Region. With no conventional written examination and selection primarily through qualification-based merit, it can be a useful opportunity for eligible candidates seeking industry training with IOCL.
Interested candidates should check their exact discipline code, qualification, age and previous apprenticeship status before applying. The application must be completed through the appropriate NAPS or NATS portal by 4 November 2026, 5:00 PM.
Frequently Asked Questions
IOCL has notified 335 Trade, Technician, Graduate and Data Entry Operator apprenticeship opportunities for the Western Region.
The last date is 4 November 2026 at 5:00 PM.
The basic age range is 18 to 24 years as on 30 September 2026 for General/EWS/UR candidates. Relaxation is available for eligible reserved and PwBD categories.
No conventional written examination is specified. Selection is based on merit using marks obtained in the prescribed essential qualification, followed by document verification and medical fitness requirements.
Trade Apprentice and Data Entry Operator candidates should use the NAPS/Apprenticeship India portal, while Technician and Graduate Apprentice candidates should use the NATS portal, according to the notified discipline.
No. Candidates should apply for only one discipline code. Multiple applications can lead to rejection.
No. It is apprenticeship training under the Apprentices Act. Completion of the apprenticeship does not create an automatic right to regular employment with IOCL.
